Safe driving with your dog

Share on 2018-06-24
We all want to take our four-legged friends everywhere we go. But if you are travelling by car there are some things you have to pay attention to, so that your dog is really safe.


Safety belt

With seat belt and harness you can strap your dog directly to the seat. Please note that you are buying a high quality harness specially designed for driving by car, as normal harnesses cannot withstand the enormous load during braking. Also make sure that the harness is not too loose, otherwise your pet will be thrown against the seat at high speed. This can be very painful even at low speed. Therefore the buckle must be very tight, which greatly restricts your dog's natural movement. Some dogs might have difficulty getting used to this cramped situation.


Seperating grid

Protected by a separating grid, the space can be used for the transport of your four-legged friend. Getting in is easier because the entrance has a large opening and can be equipped with familiar items such as a blanket or toy. However, due to the large radius of movement, your dog can injure himself badly when braking abruptly. In addition, the grid does not stop your dog from flying into the front room if it is not sufficiently anchored.


Box

The transport box offers your four-legged friend a protected space, which shields him from the stimulus satiation of the car journey and takes away the excitement. The version permanently installed in the boot is made of metal and provides additional protection for your dog in rear-end collisions. If the box is not permanently installed, it should be additionally secured with straps. It can be used in advance as a sleeping box, so that your four-legged friend is already familiar with it. The ADAC safety test certifies the transport box the best protection for your pet as well as for yourself.

Sicheres Autofahren mit Hund

Teilen auf 24.06.2018
Wir alle wollen unsere Vierbeiner am liebsten überall hin mitnehmen. Wenn Du mit dem Auto unterwegs bist gibt es aber einiges auf das Du achten musst, damit Dein Hund auch wirklich sicher ist.


Sicherheitsgurt

Mit Sicherheitsgurt und Geschirr kannst Du Deinen Hund direkt am Sitz anschnallen. Bitte beachte, dass Du Dir ein speziell für das Autofahren konzipiertes hochwertiges Geschirr kaufst, da normale die enorme Belastung bei einer Bremsung nicht standhalten. Auch ist darauf zu achten, dass der Gurt nicht zu locker ist, sonst wird dein Liebling mit hoher Geschwindigkeit gegen den Sitz geschleudert. Das kann bereits bei geringer Geschwindigkeit sehr schmerzhaft werden. Daher muss die Schnallung sehr eng sein, was deinen Hund in seiner natürlichen Bewegung stark einschränkt. Einige Vierbeiner dürften sich an diese eingezwängte Situation nur schwer gewöhnen.


Trenngitter

Geschützt durch ein Trenngitter, kann der Kofferraum für den Transport Deines Vierbeiners genutzt werden. Das Einsteigen wird leichter, denn der Kofferraum bietet eine große Öffnung und kann mit vertrauten Gegenständen wie Kuscheldecke oder Spielzeug ausgestattet werden. Durch den großen Bewegungsradius kann Dein Hund sich bei abruptem Bremsen jedoch stark verletzen. Bei nicht ausreichender Verankerung hält das Gitter außerdem den Hund nicht davon ab in den Vorderraum zu fliegen.


Box

Die Transportbox bietet Deinem Vierbeiner einen geschützten Raum, der ihn vor der Reizüberflutung der Autofahrt abschirmt und die Aufregung nimmt. Die fest im Kofferraum installierte Version ist aus Metall und schützt deinen Hund zusätzlich bei Auffahrunfällen. Ist die Box nicht fest installiert, sollte sie zusätzlich mit Gurten fixiert werden. Sie kann im Voraus als Schlafbox benutzt werden, sodass Dein Vierbeiner damit bereits vertraut ist. Der ADAC Sicherheitstest attestiert der Transportbox den besten Schutz sowohl für dein Tier als auch für dich selbst.