Prevention and vaccinations for the dog

Share on 2019-12-19

Vaccinations

The first vaccinations that your dog/puppy receives at 8 weeks of age at the earliest are called basic vaccinations, according to the recommendations of the German Veterinary Association this is carried out as follows: 

At the age of:

  • 8 weeks of life: parvovirus, distemper, leptospirosis, (HCC)
  • 12 weeks of life: parvovirus, distemper, leptospirosis, (HCC), rabies 
  • 16 weeks of life: parvovirus, distemper, (HCC)

In the 15th month of life (or one year after the last vaccination) all vaccinations should be repeated to complete the basic immunisation. 

Vaccination interval after completion of basic immunisation: 

  • Rabies: every 2-3 years (depending on the vaccine used)
  • parvovirus/distempere/leptospirosis: every 3 years 
  • Leptospirosis: Annually 

There are of course many other vaccinations that might be necessary depending on the life situation. Let your veterinarian advise you on this.

Important: Always remember that you only go to vaccination with a Fitten Dog, a vaccination is always a strain on the body. In addition, a deworming a few days in advance is recommended, because worms are also a high burden on the body.


Puppyhood: The first time at the vet

Prevention is everything! Find a veterinarian you trust. There you should soon present your new addition to the family for a thorough initial examination, to get to know each other and to get used to each other. You will also discuss the current vaccination programme for your dog and deworming with the vet.  


Checkup

You should also present your dog once a year to the vet for a checkup, this can be combined well with the vaccination. Here the vet listens to the heart, checks the skin, ears, eyes, teeth and weight.

From the age of 7 years on it is advisable to make a blood count of your pet, so that some diseases such as diabetes, kidney insufficiency, thyroid over- and underfunction, ... can be recognized and treated accordingly.

Gesund bleiben: Vorsorge und Impfungen für den Hund

Teilen auf 19.12.2019

Impfungen

Die ersten Impfungen, die Dein Hund/Welpe mit frühestens 8 Wochen erhält, bezeichnet man als Grundimmunisierung. Nach den Empfehlungen der Bundes Tierärztekammer wird diese wie folgt durchgeführt:

Im Alter von:

  • 8 Lebenswochen: Parvovirose, Staupe, Leptospirose, (HCC) 
  • 12 Lebenswochen: Parvovirose, Staupe, Leptospirose, (HCC), Tollwut  
  • 16 Lebenswochen: Parvovirose, Staupe, (HCC) 

Im 15. Lebensmonat (bzw. ein Jahr nach der letzten Impfung) sollten alle Impfungen zum Abschluss der Grundimmunisierung wiederholt werden. 


Impfintervall nach abgeschlossener Grundimmunisierung:

  • Tollwut: alle 2-3 Jahre (je nach verwendetem Impfstoff)
  • Parvovirose/Staupe/Leptospirose: alle 3 Jahre
  • Leptospirose: Jährlich

Es gibt natürlich auch noch viele weitere Impfungen, die je nach Lebenssituation notwendig sein könnten. Lass Dich hierzu von Deinem Tierarzt beraten. 

Wichtig: Denke immer daran, nur mit einem Fitten Hund zum Impfen zu gehen, denn eine Impfung stellt immer eine Belastung für den Körper dar. Zudem wird eine Entwurmung einige Tage im Voraus empfohlen, da auch Würmer eine hohe Belastung für den Körper darstellen.


Welpenzeit: Das erste Mal zum Tierarzt 

Vorbeugung ist alles! Suche Dir einen Tierarzt oder eine Tierärztin Deines Vertrauens. Dort solltest Du Deinen Familienzuwachs bald für eine gründliche Erstuntersuchung, zum Kennenlernen und aneinander Gewöhnen vorstellen. Zudem besprichst Du mit dem Tierarzt das aktuelle Impfprogramm für Deinen Hund sowie die Entwurmung. 

Checkup

Auch solltest Du Deinen Hund einmal im Jahr dem Tierarzt zum Checkup vorstellen, dieser Termin lässt sich gut mit der Impfung kombinieren. Hier hört der Tierarzt das Herz ab, kontrolliert Haut, Ohren, Augen, Zähne und das Gewicht. Ab dem siebten Lebensjahr ist es ratsam, ein großes Blutbild von Deinem Liebling erstellen zulassen. Dadurch lassen sich frühzeitig einige Krankheiten wie, Diabetes, Niereninsuffizienz, Schilddrüsen Über- und Unterfunktion usw. erkennen und entsprechend behandeln.